HelpDesk KB
Space shortcuts
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Zoom is reporting:

"We are experiencing longer wait times than normal due to increased demand. You can still view answers to frequently asked questions or contact us but wait times may be longer than expected. Thank you for your patience."

 Securing Your Session From “Zoombombing” Attempts

Generate a Random Meeting ID

When scheduling a meeting ensure the Meeting ID section is marked “Generate Automatically” for each session being hosted to avoid reusing of the same number especially if using your Personal Meeting ID (PMI) which is not recommended.

Please watch this video to learn more about scheduling a meeting.

Set a Meeting Password

Setting a password for your meeting can prevent unanticipated guests from joining. When scheduling a meeting, under Meeting Options, select Require meeting password, then specify a six digit code. Participants will be asked to enter this code in order to join your meeting.

Enable Waiting Room

The Waiting Room feature allows the host to control when participants join your meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit attendees individually, or hold all attendees in the virtual waiting room and admit all when you are ready to begin. Admitting participants from the Waiting Room requires an additional step for the host, but provides increased control to only allow participants to join the meeting when you admit them. This feature can be enabled on a per-meeting basis when scheduling.

Disable Join Before Host

If you are scheduling a meeting where sensitive information will be discussed and you do not want participants to start the meeting without you, it's best to disable join before host functionality. If you disable this functionality, participants will see a pop-up dialog that says, "Please wait for the host to start this meeting." If you are the host, there is a login button to login and start the meeting as the host. This feature can also be enabled or disabled on a per-meeting basis when scheduling.

Limit Sharing to the Host

This restriction can help prevent intrusive sharing and potential meeting disruptions. However, this may not be appropriate when multiple participants need to share and collaborate. To limit sharing privileges while in your meeting:

  • Click the up-arrow next to Share Screen.
  • Select Advanced Sharing Options.
  • Under Who can share, click Only Host.

Remove a Participant

If you are the host or co-host in a session and notice an unwanted guest has joined or a participant is disruptive to your session, you have the option to remove them. To remove a participant:

  • Click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window (if the Participants panel is not already visible).
  • Next to the person you want to remove, click More.
  • From the list that appears, click Remove.

Lock Your Meeting

The Zoom Host Controls allow the host or co-host to lock the meeting once all anticipated participants have joined the meeting. When a meeting is locked, no one else can join the session, regardless of having a meeting password. To lock your meeting:

  • Click Manage Participants at the bottom of the Zoom window (if the Participants panel is not already visible).
  • At the bottom of the Participants panel, click More.
  • From the list that appears, click Lock Meeting.

Restrict Access to Join a Meeting

By default, anyone with the join link or meeting ID can join a meeting hosted by users on your account, even if they are not signed into Zoom. To prevent unknown participants from joining the session, you have the option to restrict meeting participants to users who are signed into Zoom.

Enable on your account:

  • Sign into the Zoom web portal and navigate to Settings.
  • Enable Only authenticated users can join meetings.
  • If the setting is disabled, click the Status toggle to enable it. If a verification dialog displays, choose Turn On to verify the change.

Enable when scheduling:

  • Log into the online portal
  • Schedule a Meeting or Webinar
  • Under Meeting Options or Webinar Options, click Only authenticated users can join.
 Additional Setting Recommendations

Personal Meeting Settings

  • Enable Mute participants upon entry by default
  • Screen sharing > Host only (leave as default)
  • Disable desktop/screen share for users by default
  • Disable annotation by default
  • Disable whiteboard by default
  • Disable remote control by default
  • Disable allow participants to rename themselves by default

In-meeting settings

  • Disable Allow participants to unmute themselves
  • Stop Video (has to be done one-by-one)